Since 2021, the HISK Board of Directors has proceeded to appoint three curators each year for the guidance of the candidate laureates within the HISK programme and to assist them in preparing for their positions as professional artists. Two curators are appointed for the guidance of the twelve first-year candidate laureates, one for the first half of the year and the other for the second half of the year. A third curator is appointed to provide the curatorial guidance for the twelve second-year candidate laureates during the whole year.

From January 2023 until December 2023, Sébastien Pluot fulfils the function of curator for the second-year candidate laureates.

Sébastien Pluot is an independent curator, art historian, researcher and writer. He holds a master’s 2 degree (DEA) in Art History and Theory from EHESS (1998), a Bachelor (Maîtrise) of Psychology (1994) and a Bachelor in Sociology of Art, (1995). He is currently working on a Phd at University Paris IV. He is a member of the Centre Andre Chastel.

He awarded the Villa Kujoyama residency in 2023 (July-November) and the Villa Médicis “Hors les Murs” in 2010, and grants from the French Ministry of Culture for his research in 2005, 2011, 2012 and 2013. He was curator in residence at the Kadist Foundation in San Francisco in 2009. He is on the selection comity of A.I.R 351 residency, Lisbon and the advisory Board of the Emily Harvey Foundation.

Sébastien Pluot served as a guest teacher at the San Francisco Art Institute, Barnard College and CUNY in New York, Université Paris I Panthéon Sorbonne, Lyon Post-Master and has lectured for many international symposiums, among them at the University of Florida, Centre Georges Pompidou, Jeu de Paume, INHA, HEAD of Geneva, Frac Aquitaine, etc. In addition, he has developed the project Living Archives, a research exhibition and publication program exploring various uses of the document and archives in contemporary art.

Curators 2022:
Luk Lambrecht, curator first-year candidate laureates (first half of 2022)
Sophie Lapalu, curator first-year candidate laureates (second half of 2022)
Yann Chateigné Tytelman, curator second-year candidate laureates (2022)